Shoe String Living

Having a Creative and Fun Frugal Life

$5 Challenge March 20, 2010

Filed under: Craft Room,DIY,Home Decor,Home Office — trntm @ 12:56 am

What challenge? Living with Lindsay challenged readers to create new Spring decor for their homes using only $5 worth of products from the Dollar Store. The dollar store is my best friend, it’s my addiction, I can spend hours there browsing the aisles, digging through merchandise to find the perfect item.

I decided to create a cute message board for my craft room. I’ve been itching to add some glam to the room and make it a bit more unabashedly girly. This was step one. 

I found some thick framed memo boards, cute silver stand (they were actually the same ones I used for my wedding’s photo table) and white grosgrain ribbon. I pulled out some cute girly wrapping paper and aqua paint from the craft room.

You can guess what I did next. I painted the wooden frame aqua, pasted the wrapping paper over the cork and trimmed it all out in white ribbon. Instead of attaching it to the wall, I set it in the stand for a little sense of luxury.

It looks so cute on my white desk.

For bonus points, I decided to create an entire set that would include a pencil holder, glam push pins and a tray to hold supplies of works in progress. Even if you include the materials for the rest of the project, it would still come out to be less than $5. However, I used a repurposed can and  I’m not sure if that complies with the rules.

Using an old vegetable can, I recovered it with the same wrapping paper and added my colorful sharpies and paper scissors.

Using some old flat jewels, I glued these to the push pins for some glam office supplies.

Finally, using a Christmas tray from the dollar store, I painted the edges with the same aqua paint and added the wrapping paper to the center.

Isn’t it the cutest girliest office set ever? If I were to create another set, it would be a good gift for a teenager or college freshman. Especially if the paper were in their school’s colors and logo.

Grand total: $3 for the memo board, $4 for the entire office set

 

15 Responses to “$5 Challenge”

  1. Ohhhh, that is SO cute!!! Fantastic ideas!!

  2. Kristin Says:

    You did a superb job. It’s adorable!

  3. Laurel Says:

    What a fun challenge!

  4. Absolutely adorable! What a great gift idea.

    ~Amanda

  5. LindsB Says:

    What a great idea! I love that you made this with just a few bucks- super cute!

  6. What a great project! You are a clever and crafty girl. Happy Spring!

  7. What an adorable note holder!

  8. Oh, I’m inspired! What a cute trio of office supplies. A classy way to get organized.


Leave a Reply

