Shoe String Living

Having a Creative and Fun Frugal Life

A place to lay my head March 25, 2010

Filed under: DIY,Home Decor,Master Bedroom — trntm @ 7:01 pm

Thanks to Target’s clearance section and a swift kick in the butt, the bed is finally finished!

The headboard is upholstered with $1 a yard fabric that I found in Puerto Rico (yes, I brought a total of 31 yards of various grey tone fabrics and even some purple satin). I added nailhead trim as the finish.

The comforter was also made by yours truly and will probably be the last comforter that I ever sew. It was a royal pain in the behind. It’s actually reversible, the darker grey is two shades darker than the headboard and the other side is a light grey that is the same color as the pleated pillowcases.

Which brings me to the pleated pillowcases. I love the look of them, and thankfully they look good in these photos, but they’re a tiny bit too tight. The pillows are bursting at the seams. Thankfully I have plenty of fabric, so I’ll probably whip up another pair.

Question for my sewers, any hints on keeping the pleat from popping up and staying flat once a pillow is stuffed inside.

For these cases I tried hemming tape to keep the pleats flat, however for the second set I’m open to doing something different.

The sheet set was a total steal. Queen size 400 count sheet set, originally $70. I got it for $17. Yep, I went back and picked up two more-one for a gift and an extra one for our bedroom. The throw pillows were also on clearance $12 for the quilted pair and $7 for the purple peacock that I couldn’t resist even though nothing in my house is purple, or peacock.

So, what do you think? Is the bed a hit or miss?

 

3 Responses to “A place to lay my head”

  1. Kristin Says:

    You did such an amazing job. I am so enamored with that headboard!

  2. Jamie Says:

    It looks great! And I love the price tag! 🙂

  3. I’m doing our bedroom with grey too (but some orange & grey=blue, too!). Yours looks amazing – the headboard is awesome!


Leave a comment