Shoe String Living

Having a Creative and Fun Frugal Life

Birthday Grocery Store, Part 1 April 30, 2010

Filed under: DIY,Saving Money — trntm @ 10:24 pm

I’ve been invited to the birthday party of a little girl who I’ve been blessed to have monthly picnics and tea parties with when I serve in the church nursery.

Those who know me, know that I’m a pretty nerdy gift giver. Usually hubby helps me find something not so nerdy and is more fun for a child. Well, hubby wasn’t with me this shopping trip.

I searched the aisles looking for a unique gift that would knock down barriers and society’s expectations and at the same time intellectually challenge the little girl. Since she was turning two it had to be fun too. Did I mention that I’m a nerdy gift giver?

My basket was full of ideas and supplies including:

  • A pizza baker and owner with a little felt pizza and interchangeable felt toppings. Add a cute little personalized apron and pie pan for the ultimate fun in pizza making and introduction to small business ownership.
  • A¬†personalized firefighter (not fireman) kit with jacket that I would embroider her name to along with several tools and a cute little red bucket that resembled a fire hydrant to store it all in.
  • Lots of pink princess stuff that jumped into my basket in spite my search for items that would break gender barriers.

This is what I brought home with me

Any guesses as to what I will do?

linking up with these parties – Life as Lori, Someday Crafts, Beyond the Picket Fence, Somewhat Simple, The Shabby Chic Cottage, Everything Etsy, Fireflies and Jellybeans,

 

One Response to “Birthday Grocery Store, Part 1”

  1. Fawnda Says:

    It looks like the making of fruit salad (yummy yummy!) : )


Leave a Reply

