Shoe String Living

Having a Creative and Fun Frugal Life

Home Office for Doctoral Studies July 30, 2010

Filed under: Home Decor,Home Office — trntm @ 1:49 am

I’m starting a doctoral program this fall. That means a lot of things at the moment. The one that is in the forefront of my mind is how to arrange my study space at home?

Hubby and I have a loft that we have made into the office/computer area. There’s a large bookcase flanked by our desks and the bookcase also serves as a means of separating us so we’re not distracted by each other.

In the middle of the room is a large desk/conference table that I used to spread out papers when I was a teacher or for large paper art projects. Behind the conference table lies another bookcase.

I don’t think a huge overhaul of moving furniture about will work well…unless it’s flipping the direction of the conference table.  Basically I want to carve out a space to study and do the mounds of research necessary for my studies. The program would supply me with a laptop and I would like to set my office up in the back part of the room.

My big concern is distractions. If I study at the large conference table, will that be enough distance between me and my computer…the one filled with addictive games, emails and blogs.

Thankfully, I have a plan B, well it’s more like a Plan A depending on the laptop and wi-fi access. I will convert the guest room closet into an office. The benefits would be much less distractions and the cat prefers to sit on the bed as opposed to the tiny space between my back and the chair.

I love Aja’s office  (flickr supershoppertoo)

and this one from Steve & Chris

 

Leave a Reply

