Shoe String Living

Having a Creative and Fun Frugal Life

Changing Mindset October 20, 2010

Filed under: Hair — trntm @ 8:16 pm

Have you ever had to change your mindset about your hair or anything in life? I have reached such a point. Maybe it was because my hair was braided up or covered with wigs for most of the year, or maybe it’s just starting to hang down a bit instead or stand up. Either way I have gotten to the point where I have to accept the fact that I have a LOT of hair on my head and it’s LONG.

It seems odd to have to accept the fact that I have a lot of long hair. Basically it means that I have to change my routine to accept that. The way that I used to quickly twist my hair, no more. The way I use to wash my hair, no more. Heck, the way I use to dry my body after a shower, no more.

I am now trying to learn how to deal with longer natural hair. In its stretched form, it reaches almost to my armpit, but when it’s natural and lovely shrinkage occurs it reaches chin length. Maybe that’s what I have to get used to. Knowing that my hair appears one shorter and easier to maintain length, but it’s actually longer and requires more time to detangle and wash and twist.

I have found a new staple style that I like. Two braids on the side that are pulled into a chignon in the back. Nice, simple, easy and lasts about a week.  Very important things as I enter into the “busy” season of my doctoral program.

My next goals are learning to flat twist and cornroll my hair.  Not the easiest thing, so any advice, videos or posts that you think are helpful-send them my way.

 

Leave a Reply

