Shoe String Living

Having a Creative and Fun Frugal Life

PYE: Week 1 & Y-Twist Updo January 15, 2012

Filed under: Challenge,Hair,Hairstyle — trntm @ 4:24 pm

It’s been a bit over a week (Jan 1-8), but thanks to deadlines with journals, I couldn’t update.

The first week was too much manipulation. I was still out of the country visiting family and was trying a new side challenge of using four or less bobby pins. My hair was in two strand twists, but I did a lot of different updos thanks to the multiple events we had going on from New Year’s Eve parties, to dancing in fancy hotel ballrooms and some perfect beach days.

I did develop a new style which I dubbed the Y-twist Updo

Basically, I took the hair and separated it into thirds. Two on either side of my head and one for the back.

Then, I took the back section and made a two-strand twist.

I pinned the twist to the top of my head, taking care to fold the ends under the twist.

I then took a side section and made a two strand twist.

I wrapped the twisted over and then under the back twist and pinned it down.

I did the same with the other side.

The style only used three bobby pins and was pretty cute and very fast and easy to do. It can be done on loose hair as well, or chunkier twists. I will be adding this style to my options of the PYE Challenge, but I might had a few more bobby pins, so I can wear it for several days before taking it down. With only three bobby pins, I had to redo the style each day. However, that might be good as it allows my hair a chance to “rest” without tension, besides I’ll have to take it down at least twice a week-once to do a rinse so my scalp can get moisturized and once for wash day.

Speaking of, for those who have to rinse your scalp often due to dandruff, do you have any tips on how to get by going a full week without rinsing the scalp, or is this just something that has to be done for the health of the scalp?

 

Leave a Reply

